Who Is In usually cannot update timecards after they have been signed. This depends on workflow configuration. If the workflow action “Do Not Post From GED” is added to a signing role for a timecard document, then after that role has signed the timecard Who Is In will no longer be able to update the timecard. This ensures that the data that was signed off on remains unmodified.
If a change is made in Who Is In after the timecard has been signed Who Is In will try to update the timecard and discover it cannot because the timecard has been signed. It will generate the exception “Timecard signed beyond allowable role.”
A matching edit message will be added to the user’s timecard, informing you that the “Timecard could not be updated by the system because it has been signed beyond an allowable role.”
To clear this exception first return the timecard so that it is no longer signed by the role that has the “Do Not Post From GED” workflow action. Then look for another date on Who Is In on which the exception is not present (same user). Click on the date and choose “Resync Timecard” from the menu, as seen to the right. It will resync the whole pay period, including the day with the exception, prompting Who Is In to check if the timecard is still signed beyond an allowable role. If the timecard is no longer signed beyond an allowable role it will write the punches to the timecard and clear the exception.
NOTE: An edit message saying “Timecard could not be updated by the system because it has been signed beyond an allowable role” may appear on a timecard without a matching exception appearing in Who Is In if what Who Is In had written to the timecard was changed in a way that made it differ from what was in Who Is In (rather than the reverse). If it is the reverse, the message will display in both locations.